Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Sport-related hyperhomocysteinemia: a putative marker of muscular demand to be noticed for cardiovascular risk
  1. Paolo Borrione (pborrione{at}libero.it)
  1. A.S.O. San Luigi Gonzaga, Italy
    1. Marta Rizzo (dotmarta{at}yahoo.it)
    1. Istituto Universitario di Scienze Motorie, Italy
      1. Angela Spaccamiglio (angela.spaccamiglio{at}unito.it)
      1. Centro Regionale Antidoping, Italy
        1. Raffaella Antonella Salvo (raffaella.salvo{at}antidoping.piemonte.it)
        1. Centro Regionale Antidoping, Italy
          1. Andrea Dovio (dovioaa{at}libero.it)
          1. A.S.O. San Luigi Gonzaga, Italy
            1. Angela Termine (angela.termine{at}unito.it)
            1. Dipartimento di Scienze Cliniche e Biologiche, Italy
              1. Attilio Parisi (attilio.parisi{at}iusm.it)
              1. Istituto Universitario di Scienze Motorie, Italy
                1. Federica Fagnani (federica.fagnani{at}iusm.it)
                1. Istituto Universitario di Scienze Motorie, Italy
                  1. Alberto Angeli (alberto.angeli{at}unito.it)
                  1. Medicina Interna I, Italy
                    1. Fabio Pigozzi (fabio.pigozzi{at}iusm.it)
                    1. Istituto Universitario di Scienze Motorie, Italy

                      Abstract

                      Objective: Regular physical activity is associated with a reduction of cardiovascular morbidity and mortality, however, evidences of unfortunate cardiovascular events, accompanying elite sport involvement, continue to accumulate. To date, no information are available upon possible peculiarities of the cardiovascular risk profile in athletes.

                      Design: The aim of this study was to evaluate plasma homocysteine levels in a group of athletes and to search for relationship with vitamin status and other metabolic variables in order to confirm the existence of a “sport-related hyperhomocysteinemia” and to explain its clinical significance. The study population was composed by 82 athletes (59M and 23F) practising different sports and 70 healthy age matched subjects (40M and 30F) as control group. Besides the general clinical and analytical determinations, the assessed variables included homocysteine, folate, vitamin B12, total and HDL cholesterol, LDH, CPK and IL-6.

                      Results: The prevalence of hyperhomocysteinemia (>15 µmol/L) in athletes and controls was 47 % and 15 %, respectively. No correlation was found between homocysteine and all the other investigated variables, in particular plasma folate, blood pressure, LDH, CPK, total and HDL cholesterol and IL-6.

                      Conclusion: The results of this study confirm the existence of a sport-related hyperhomocysteinemia which appears linked neither to the same variables found in the general population, nor to specific training-related variables. We suggest that it would represent an adaptation to training but the possibility of a secondary vascular damage cannot be excluded.

                      • Athletes
                      • Cardio-vascular risk factor
                      • Exercise
                      • Homocysteine
                      • Hyperhomocysteinemia

                      Statistics from Altmetric.com

                      Request permissions

                      If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.