Article Text

other Versions

PDF
The early management of muscle strains in the elite athlete: best practice in a world with a limited evidence basis.
  1. John W Orchard (johnorchard{at}msn.com.au)
  1. University of Melbourne, Australia
    1. Thomas M Best (tom.best{at}osumc.edu)
    1. OSUMC, United States
      1. Hans-Wilhelm Mueller-Wohlfahrt (artner{at}mw-munich.de)
      1. Bayern Munich, Germany
        1. Glenn Hunter (glenn.hunter{at}uksport.gov.uk)
        1. UK Sport, United Kingdom
          1. Bruce H Hamilton (bruce.hamilton{at}eis2win.co.uk)
          1. UK Athletics Medical Department, United Kingdom
            1. Nick Webborn (nickwebborn{at}sportswise.org.uk)
            1. University of Brighton, United Kingdom
              1. Rod Jaques (rod.jaques{at}eis2win.co.uk)
              1. English Institute Sport , SW Region, United Kingdom
                1. Dean Kenneally (dean.kenneally{at}eis2win.co.uk)
                1. English Institute Sport, United Kingdom
                  1. Richard Budgett (richard.budgett{at}boa.org.uk)
                  1. LOCOG, United Kingdom
                    1. Nicola Phillips (phillipsn{at}cardiff.ac.uk)
                    1. pp, United Kingdom
                      1. Caryl Becker (caryl.becker{at}boa.org.uk)
                      1. BOA, United Kingdom

                        Abstract

                        From December 12-14, 2007, UK Sport held a think tank on “muscle strains” in London. This brought together many of UK Sport’s top sports medicine clinicians along with three invited international experts. Many issues of muscle strains were discussed over the three days, but the aspect which attracted the most attention was the early management of strains in the elite athlete. A consensus summary of conclusions on this specific topic from the think tank is presented here.

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                        Linked Articles

                        • Miscellaneous
                          BMJ Publishing Group Ltd and British Association of Sport and Exercise Medicine
                        • Editorial
                          John W Orchard Thomas M Best Hans-Wilhelm Mueller-Wohlfahrt Glenn Hunter Bruce H Hamilton Nick Webborn Rod Jaques Dean Kenneally Richard Budgett Nicola Phillips Caryl Becker Philip Glasgow