Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Androgen receptor gene polymorphisms lean mass and performance in young men
  1. Amelia Guadalupe-Grau (amelia.guadalupe{at}gmail.com)
  1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
    1. German Rodriguez-Gonzalez (grodriguez{at}becarios.ulpgc.es)
    1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
      1. Cecilia Dorado (cdorado{at}def.ulpgc.es)
      1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
        1. Hugo Olmedillas (holmedillas{at}becarios.ulpgc.es)
        1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
          1. Teresa Fuentes (fuentes.teresa{at}gmail.com)
          1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
            1. Jorge Perez-Gomez (jorgepg100{at}gmail.com)
            1. University of Extremadura, Faculty of Sport Science, Spain
              1. Safira Delgado-Guerra (sdelgado{at}becarios.ulpgc.es)
              1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
                1. German Vicente-Rodíguez (gervicen{at}unizar.es)
                1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
                  1. Ignacio Ara (iara{at}unizar.es)
                  1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
                    1. Borja Guerra (borja.guerra{at}gmail.com)
                    1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
                      1. Rafael Arteaga-Ortiz (rarteaga{at}dfis.ulpgc.es)
                      1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
                        1. Jose AL Calbet (lopezcalbet{at}gmail.com)
                        1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
                          1. Bonifacio Nicolas Diaz-Chico (bdiaz{at}dbbf.ulpgc.es)
                          1. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain

                            Abstract

                            The exon-1 of the androgen receptor (AR) gene contains two repeat length polymorphisms which modify either the amount of AR protein inside the cell (GGNn, polyglycine) or its transcriptional activity (CAGn, polyglutamine). Shorter CAG and/or GGN repeats provide stronger androgen signalling, and vice versa. To test the hypothesis that CAG and GGN repeat AR polymorphism affects muscle mass and various variables of muscular strength phenotype traits, the length of CAG and GGN repeats was determined by PCR and fragment analysis, and confirmed by DNA sequencing of selected samples, in 282 men (28.6 ± 7.6 years). Individuals were grouped as CAG short (CAGS) if harbouring repeat lengths of ≤21 and CAG long (CAGL) if CAG >21. GGN was considered short (GGNS) or long (GGNL) if GGN ≤23 or > 23, respectively. No significant differences in lean body mass or fitness were observed between the CAGS and CAGL groups, or between GGNS and GGNL groups, but a trend for a correlation was found for the GGN repeat and lean mass of the extremities (r=-0.11, P=0.06). In summary, the length of CAG and GGN repeat of the AR gene do not appear to influence lean mass or fitness in young men.

                            Statistics from Altmetric.com

                            Request permissions

                            If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.