Article Text

Download PDFPDF

Sport science and medicine in tennis
  1. Babette M Pluim1,
  2. Stuart Miller2,
  3. David Dines3,
  4. Per A H F Renström3,
  5. Gary Windler4,
  6. Bill Norris4,
  7. Kathleen Ann Stroia5,
  8. Amber Donaldson5,
  9. Kathy Martin5
  1. 1
    KNLTB, The Netherlands
  2. 2
    ITF, London, UK
  3. 3
    Karolinska Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden
  4. 4
    ATP, Ponte Vedra, Florida, USA
  5. 5
    Sony Ericsson WTA Tour, St Petersburg, Florida, USA
  1. Babette M Pluim, Royal Netherlands Lawn Tennis Association, PO Box 1617, 3800 BP Amersfoort, The Netherlands; b.pluim{at}

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Tennis is one of the major global sports, with over 75 million participants worldwide. Many more follow the Grand Slams, Davis Cup and Fed Cup events, overseen by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and the professional tours, governed and managed by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) and the Sony Ericsson WTA (Women’s Tennis Association) Tour.

The ITF is the world governing body of tennis and is the guardian of the Rules of Tennis. However, both the ATP and WTA have flexibility in the way in which they run their respective tours (eg, they have different rules for playing in the heat and for the medical cover at events).

All three organisations are involved in the development of the game and all have committees and departments that have responsibility for sports science and sports medicine. Even though these departments are run independently, representatives of all groups sit on the ITF Sport Science & Medicine Committee. In the area of anti-doping, a unified, WADA-compliant policy has been agreed that is managed by the ITF. In this article the work of the ITF, ATP and WTA sport science and medicine departments is presented in more detail.


Founded in 1913, the ITF is responsible for the Olympic Games (tennis re-joined in 1988), the Grand Slam tournaments (Australian Open, Roland Garros, Wimbledon and the US Open), the Davis Cup (men only) and Fed Cup (women only) team events, and a wide range of junior, veteran, wheelchair and lower level professional events.

Among the aims of the ITF …

View Full Text